Tags

, , ,

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author: J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany
Rating: 4/5

Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

***

Review:

Well, this book is over… and I’m not sure how I feel about it.

It seems to be the general consensus from everyone who picked up this script. It’s sort of awful in places, sort of cheesy in others, and if it wasn’t Harry Potter, we wouldn’t have picked it up in the first place… But we did, and now here we are.

Have you ever gone back to a “happy place” only to find it dull? Maybe a cottage you used to go to as a child (today, some beams are broken and it seems to wobble when the wind hits it) or a particular beach or trail in the forest (did it used to smell so stale back then?) I think this is a bit what happened with this script. I picked it up hoping it would transport me back to my elementary and high school days, where I would bury my nose in a Harry Potter book and lose track of time… only to find myself slightly disappointed that the magic isn’t 100% there.

Should it be there? I mean, it is a script, after all. It takes a special kind of person to read a script and enjoy it as much as a novel. Therefore, while some aspects were familiar (Harry and company, for one), others, such as the writing itself, weren’t. It’s not going back to your grandparents’ cottage – it’s trying out the modernized cabin at three times the price, one campground over. It’s just familiar enough to reminisce, but at the end of it all… you feel a tiny bit cheated somewhere deep down.

Personally, I sort of liked it. If the production came near me and the price was not too exorbitant, I would definitely go see it. Would I recommend the script? Yeah, I’d recommend it to any Harry Potter fan. If anything, read it to go back to Hogwarts, and to spend a few more hours in the characters’ company.

 

