Tags

,

Title: Resistance (Divided Elements #1)
Author: Mikhaeyla Kopievsky
Rating: 5/5

Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

The Announcer calls my name, but she does not speak to me. This macabre spectacle has nothing to do with me. And everything to do with them. This is all for the thousands below – the compliant citizens of Otpor, the witnesses to my Execution, the silent and transfixed. This is their moment. Their reconditioning.

In a future post-apocalyptic Paris, a rebellion threatens to upset the city’s perfectly-structured balance and plunge its citizens into anarchy.
Two generations after the Execution of Kane 148 and Otpor’s return to Orthodoxy, forbidden murals are appearing on crumbling concrete walls – calling citizens to action. Calling for Resistance.

The murals will change the utopian lives of all citizens. But, for Anaiya 234, they will change who she is.

A Peacekeeper of the uncompromising Fire Element, Anaiya free-runs through city’s precincts to enforce the Orthodoxy without hesitation or mercy. Her selection for a high-risk mission gives Otpor the chance it needs to bring down the Resistance and Anaiya the opportunity she craves to erase a shameful legacy.

But the mission demands an impossible sacrifice – her identity.

***

Review:

During my Utopian (or rather, Dystopian) Literature class, I had the pleasure to read “We” by Yevgeny Zamyatin. I remember falling in love with this book for what the dystopian regime did to the characters; stripping them of their identity only to mold them into the citizens they need them to be. That same trope is explored in Kopievsky’s “Resitance”, where Anaiya’s entire personality, her entire world, is reshaped in order for her to infiltrate the resistance movement through society. But where I found myself almost unable to relate to Zamyatin’s characters, Anaiya became very dear to me. If I would only have to choose one compliment to give this novel, it would be: Wow, what an impressive character development!

Thankfully, I don’t need to limit myself, so here we go.

The world building, although rather confusing at first, is eventually what made me rate this book a five star. I know it’s not the first book to add elemental qualities and faults to human beings (does this remind anyone else of the “Which Element Are You” quizzes?), but it was done very well. Of course, the Fire Elementals shone in their glory, seeing as though the protagonist herself has the Fire element ingrained into her from birth – you can even see the superiority complex that comes with such an element.

Also, the ending left me gaping. I dashed to Goodreads to find when the next book would be published… and then it dawned on me that this book is only due to be published in late January 2017. The wait will be a sweet torture, but I am certain to pick up the next book in this series. It just ends so, so well – I can already tell that the next book will be as spectacular!

I recommend this book. Pre-order it now!

I’d like to thank KIRIJA, Patchwork Press – Cooperative, as well as Netgalley, for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

