Tags

,

Title: Extra-Curricular: Tales Told Out of School
Author: Marc Nash
Rating: 3/5

This is a collection of short stories/flash fiction with the theme of school subjects. The characters aren’t recurrent, and the stories aren’t related to school per se, but rather subjects like physics, biology, philosophy, languages, etc.

Overall, I liked it! Marc Nash has reminded me why these kinds of books are fun to pick up once in a while. They are just the right length to read whenever you have a few minutes to spare. I’ll be perfectly honest — it was the first time I read actual flash fiction, and I didn’t hate it. That being said, it’s not a book you pick up to do some light reading. These are stories you need to focus on to get the most out of them, so do yourself a favour and only pick up the book when you can take the time to digest what you’ve read.

Strengths: some stories made me hold my breath, some made me smile, one in particular made me cry. The endings are very strong (as they should be in any kind of literature, but most importantly, short stories) and many of the stories’ punch line at the end made me go “Wow”.
Weaknesses: to be perfectly honest, some of the language was just too technical for me to get into the story. I’ve skipped a few of them because I was halfway through it and could barely wrap my head around what was happening, and it lost the coherence it could have had.

I would like to thank DigiWriting for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I would recommend this book to individuals who are interested in trying out complex flash fiction.

