Tags

, ,

Title: Lucky Me
Author: Saba Kapur
Rating: 4/5

 

This book is about an extremely spoiled famous teenage girl, a stalker who uses voice-altering software to leave really bad, and only vaguely threatening messages, and a hilariously cynical bodyguard. That is my brilliant summary.

I decided to read this book because I’ve been really diving into fantasy, dystopian and sci-fi YA novels this year, and felt like I was due for a little break. I picked up this book because it was hailed as similar to Sophie Kinsella, and I was in the mood for some light reading. Although the subject is rather serious, the content is absolutely not. In fact, I haven’t laughed out loud this much at a book since the Stephanie Plum novels.

Gia, the main character, has such a “clumsy diva” personality. She acts very immature throughout the book, but she didn’t annoy me — I sort of pitied her, because I think she really didn’t know any better through the entire story. The amount of times that I murmured, “Oh no, Gia…” or “Oh dear Lord…” while laughing and shaking my head was absolutely phenomenal. She’s spoiled, she’s a complete brat, but she tries so hard at being the person that others perceive her to be that it’s endearing.

This is a book to read when you want to laugh. It’s so real on a personality level, and at the same time, it’s completely ridiculous because Gia is rich and has equally rich friends, and she’s so used to having everything handed to her, and everyone bend to her every whim. This is the strength of the book, and what I choose to discuss in this review.  It’s not a page-turning mystery (it’s all a little bit too coincidental for my tastes), it’s barely got a drop of suspense, but it’s still a great book and I’m glad I had the chance to pick it up.

I would like to thank Amberjack Publishing, as well as Netgalley, for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

