Tags

, , ,

Title: Polaris Awakening
Author: Kellie Sheridan, Erica Crouch, Janna Jennings, Terra Harmony, Meghan Jashinsky, Hannah Davies, E. Latimer
Rating: 3.5/5

This is a science fiction short story anthology with the connecting theme of the danger of a rebellion on Polaris. The anthology contains stories of many themes, such as romance, friendship, family, betrayal. Each story is unique, but with some stories that are definitely stronger than the others.

I’d have to say that my favourite short story was Lyra by Erica Crouch, based on the myth of Orpheus. It was beautifully poetic from beginning to end and the characters were wonderful.  The hook to this anthology, Zeus, also deserves to be mentioned, because that’s what kicked me into finally reading this through.

I picked up this anthology because I had loved Janna Jennings’s novels (and her short story in this anthology rocks!) and because I had read a collection of sci-fi short stories this year that had fallen into my top 5 books of the year. While Polaris Awakening is a strong anthology, it doesn’t beat Division by Lee S. Hawke.  Nevertheless, I would recommend this anthology to anyone who likes science fiction and short stories. It’s definitely an entertaining book to read!

I’d like to thank Patchwork Press, as well as Netgalley, for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

