Tags

, , ,

Title: Ready Player One
Author: Ernest ClineRating: 4.5/5
We live in a world where reality is often gloomy, and we can make it go away by hiding on the web. Friendships, relationships, and even education and hobbies etc. are often developed purely online, and Ernest Cline explores these themes in his dystopian novel, Ready Player One. Cline explores the desperation of his protagonist, Wade, as he struggles between his ugly reality and the endless possibilities of the virtual simulation called the OASIS. Wade prefers spending time hidden in the virtual world rather than facing the real one, especially after one of the OASIS’s founder passes away and announces the start of a contest: whoever finds the “Easter Egg” hidden in the virtual world would become heir to his fortune. 

 

Thus begins the long search for that fortune amidst riddles, fights, video games, and a lot of pop culture references from the 80s. 

 

I really loved this book! It was highly recommended by a lot of people I know, and I’m a bit sad that I didn’t pick it up earlier. The world building was absolutely phenomenal; I didn’t feel like I had any questions about the world in the book. The characters were very interesting and the plot was new and fresh. Although the first few chapters are a bit rough to get through because of the extensive amount of world building, the rest of the book is fast-paced and full of twists and turns. 
This book made me want to pick up Armada, Ernest Cline’s new novel that was published not too long ago. 

 

Last thought: this book will be made into a movie (I think the release date is set for late 2017) and I think it will be so cool to watch. There are so many details in this book that they can skip over while filming the movie; I feel like a lot of redundant information can be cut out. It’ll make an awesome movie! 

