Tags

, ,

Title: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Rating: 5/5

I declare this as the best love story you’ll read in 2015.

Madeline Whittier has SCID — you know, the disease where people must live in bubbles all their lives? But not literally, of course. Madeline just has a severely deficient immune system, which means that any impurity can cause her to fall terribly ill, or even can cause death. So she lives in her secure household with her mother, who is conveniently also her doctor, and her nurse Carla.

She is quite satisfied with that life until new front-door neighbours move in. She quickly develops complicity with the boy her age, Olly, after he shows her his email address from his bedroom window. This book contains the development of their friendship, and, subsequently, their relationship.

This book is chock-full of genres: humour, love, sadness, more humour, family, adventure, tons of good YA tropes, and, of course, more humour. You will get a lovable main character that you can root for and (no love triangles!) an equally lovable romantic interest.

This story isn’t always distributed to us by written prose. Yoon’s husband drew graphics and pictures for the book, in which you learn more of Madeline. Then, there are IM conversations, book spoilers, and quirky inserts from Madeleine. I was worried at first that those would annoy me, but they definitely did not. Actually, for the first time in my life, I regretted reading something on my e-reader. Although my Kindle Paperwhite displayed all the graphics beautifully, I truly believe that this is one of these books that you should own a hard copy of somewhere in your library. I’m sure the hard copy of this will be absolutely beautiful!

What I really loved about this book is how you can’t really know how it ends until it does. I’m sure that a thousand possibilities can creep up in your mind when you read the synopsis, but there’s just enough foreshadowing that leaves doubt in your mind, but never enough to confirm everything.

I would like to thank Random House Children’s, as well as Netgalley, for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

