Tags

,

TItle: Daughter of Deep Silence
Author: Carrie Ryan
Rating: 3/5

I started obsessing over this book a few months ago. Yes, obsessing. I stumbled across it in the Buzz Books 2015: Young Adult Spring, where I had the luck of reading the first few pages. Immediately, I fell in love with the story of a young girl who gets rescued from the sea after the cruise ship she had been on fell victim to an attack. The only other survivors, however, are a reputable family who declare that it was a wave that sunk the cruise ship. A few pages in and it was already filled with suspense and left me starving to know more.

These were, unfortunately, only the first few chapters. The story then skips forward a few years later and depicts the protagonist’s hunger for revenge. Frankly, I was disappointed by the way it unfolded. The first pages are filled with drama, and tension, and the storyline is one of the best hooks I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Unfortunately, what followed was a very slow-paced and rather uneventful revenge plot.

It was an alright book, really, but it wasn’t the action-packed drama I expected to get when I read the first few pages. It reads very easily, although there are so many repetitions that I literally skipped over entire pages.
Also, I just could not associate myself with the main character whatsoever. Okay, so she lost all her family to an attack, and I haven’t, but we’ve all thought up of revenge before, and her story just left me cold. I could not root for her whatsoever, and I think that’s what had me stop liking this book.

I’d recommend this one to high school students who want something easy to read. Maybe my lower rating is simply because I was so eager to read this book, and it didn’t live up to my expectations.

