Tags

, ,

Title: Another Day
Author: David Levithan
Rating: 3.5/5

This book is the companion story to David Levithan’s novel Every Day (see other review). This time, we view the story from Rhiannon’s point of view instead of A’s. That means that every conversation you’ve read about in the first book will return in this one, so it does feel like you’re reading the same book twice. Nonetheless, it was a good read.

This story reads a lot differently than the original book. You could read either novel and you wouldn’t be lost, so if you’ve picked up this story before Every Day, then you can read it anyways without sacrificing too much. The only concept it really solidified, though, is the relationship between Rhiannon and Justin. What I really loved about the first book was the different lives that A went through, but they feel so flat in this companion story.

This book reaches its peak at the 50% mark. Before the middle, I’d say I was giving it a 2/5, to be perfectly honest. The middle pages were more captivating to me, but the beginning was just alright. The last chapter was my favourite part of the book. I really wanted to love this book as much as I had adored the first one, and I was a bit disappointed. But then again, Every Day read like a collection of short stories, while this is definitely a novel.

My recommendation would be to pick up one of the two books. Either Every Day if you don’t mind disjointed tales where the romance is a connecting factor, or Another Day if you want to read a romance novel. It’s such a great plot that I definitely recommend the books, but if I had to pick, I would go for Every Day.

I would like to thank Netgalley, as well Random House Children’s Knopf Books for Young Readers, for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

