Tags

, , ,

Title: Seeker
Author: Arwen Elys Dayton
Rating: 2/5

I really wish I could give a decent resume of this book, but it’s really hard considering that half of my questions weren’t answered at the end. I still don’t know what a Seeker is, so unfortunately, this review will be brief.

I guess it was a decent book? The author nailed the characters called the Dreads (I really loved Maud; I wish she had her own spin off, because I’d buy that) and the first part of the book. Up to Quin’s oath, this was a really good book, and then everything went downhill. It didn’t feel like the same book anymore and I was just really disappointed. We went from a lovely mixture of medieval, mystery, romance, and friendship, to… I don’t even know. Suddenly, everything was more modern, Quin had forgotten everything, Shinobu lived off drugs, and who the heck knows what John was up to during those times. But I must give credit where it’s due, and those were pretty awesome characters until part two.

There were just too little explanations. Some chapters were dreams/flashbacks, by the way. Oh, and you never actually find out exactly what happened during Quin’s oath. It just felt like half the book was cut out, and it just ended up being very disappointing. I’ve read a few other reviews that say that they found the last 20-30% of the book interesting, but I think I had given up on liking this one by then.

That being said, there were too many genres. Characters and world building were flat. The love triangle was painful. Pacing was just weird; you do get some of these plot gaps filled as you read, but you don’t get everything explained, so you have to use your imagination because the author didn’t supply.

I would not recommend this book, and I will not buy the second one. It’s been marketed as being in the same category as Hunger Games and Game of Thrones. It’s got some of the same tropes, but it’s not comparable in my opinion. It’s not the worst book out there, but I didn’t like it, so 2/5 for me.

I’d like to thank Netgalley and Random House for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

