Tags

, , , , , , ,

Title: The Academy – Introductions
Author: C.L. Stone
Rating: 4.5/5, rounded up

If you want the perfect synopsis of the book, then look at the title. This book is the first in the series “Academy”, and all it does is introduce the characters of the series.

First off, don’t expect a literary masterpiece because you will be disappointed. If you take high literature seriously, run away. I will whole-heartedly, however, give this book a high rating because the characters are captivating. Classify this book under “teenage girl guilty pleasure” reads. Those boys each seem perfect, and while I’d usually toss the book away with a shudder at such a large amount of flawlessness… well, I’m intrigued. There’s an air of mystery surrounding their group and I’m itching to buy the next book in the serie to see where the elusive Academy really comes in (currently trying to go through about eight books before jumping in a new series, but rest assured that I’ll snag the first book soon enough!) Their friendship is to be envied, honestly, and this introduction leaves you wanting to know more about their group.

Yes, readers, your ideal man is in there. You crave intelligence and kindness? You’ll fall for Kota. You like flirtatious athletes? Nathan it is. There are seven of them, and there’s at least one out there for you to cheer for (or crush on). They each group together in an attempt to, somehow, protect Sang, who is a newcomer at the public school.

There’s next to no plot in this novel aside from Sang meeting the boys. Literally – that’s all that happens. If book 2 is this plot-less then I’ll say goodbye to the series, really. There’s only so much “look at the pretty boys” I can take before it loses its shine. Really, though, you get to meet families, their hobbies, the general neighborhood… I guess you could say it’s world-building meets character introduction and development type of novel.

Seven almost-perfect guys, one girl, romantic interests without a plot… Nope, definitely not the latest literary masterpiece, but I honestly read through it in about four hours total. I will repeat myself once more: guilty pleasure novel. I feel sixteen again, completely in love with Stephenie Meyer’s Jasper… Same concept; I’m not too sure what draws me to the book, but I’m hooked and that’s all there is to it, really. If you don’t take it too seriously (if I went “English literature graduate” on it, I’d probably destroy it), it’s a really entertaining read for young adult ladies.

I’d like to thank Netgalley, as well as Arcato Publishing, for the free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Note: last I checked, this book was free to download from Kobo if ever you want to check it out without wanting to pay for it. Ladies, be shallow and go get it!

Note 2: While I did angle my review towards women, I am in no way insinuating that this isn’t a book for men to read. I just think the book’s audience is primarily young adult ladies.

