Tags

Title: Above
Author: Isla Morley
Rating: 4/5

Blythe Hallowell is a teenager when she is taken from her home by Dobbs, the friendly but eccentric man always recommending books to her at the local library. Dobbs is convinced that the end of the world is approaching and has planned accordingly for decades. Blythe finds out her role as she reads his manifesto – she is to help him repopulate the new world. Being kept trapped for over twenty years, Blythe goes through both hope and depression as she adapts to new situations every single day. Is Dobbs, however, slightly more perceptive than she had previously thought? Is there, perhaps, something out there that he is shielding her from?

This book contains two parts; part one is about Blythe’s struggles with her captivity and part two… well, I’m not going to spoil anything. Part one was definitely a 5/5 read – I shuddered through it and I’ve literally spoken about this book to anyone who would listen to me. The plot was so believable that I could tell it was inspired from a true story somewhere out there. You’ll feel every single emotion in the spectrum as you read! It’s also definitely made me more aware of the poor victims crime out there – my heart goes out to each and every one of you who have suffered similarly to Blythe.

 Part two of the novel, on the other hand, made the book’s rating drop to a 4/5. Perhaps I didn’t expect that kind of major twist (i.e. you feel like you’re reading a completely different book, with only Blythe as the link) so I was thrown off. There’s definitely foreshadowing, and I guess I could say that I sort of saw it coming, but I didn’t think such an angle would be explored for literally 50% of the book.

It doesn’t mean it’s a bad book. I would recommend it, if only to read part one because that was one of the most gripping story I’ve read.

I’d like to thank Netgalley, as well as Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books, for the free advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

